Geldart steals the show at year-end curling tourney

Dan Boyd
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Norm Scrimger, of Brooklyn, throws a rock during the Windsor Curling Club’s year-end tournament March 31.

Ross Geldart’s rink was the only undefeated team out of 12, finishing 3-0 to capture the 2012 year-end Windsor Curling Club Tournament this past Saturday. Geldart's team, which consisted of Leigh Melanson, Ann Parks, and Brian Joudrey, totalled 46 points in their three games. Each tournament victory was worth 10 points while teams received two points for every end they won.

The teams of Paul Conrad, Bill McConnell and Malcolm Gould finished tied for second place with 36 points respectively to go along with their 2-1 records. The Conrad rink was comprised of Al Keating, Dayle Baxter-Asby and Norm Scrimger. The McConnell foursome consisted of Les Reid, Joanne Carson and Marvin Peck. Bill Frape's rink just missed making it a four-way tie for second place, instead having to settle for third place with 34 points.

The following are the remaining scores for all teams participating in the year-end finale. Rae Winkelaar’s rink placed fourth with 33 points, followed by Bud Thompson’s rink with 30 points in fifth place, Greg Gollan’s rink and Merril Beach’s rink tied for sixth place with 24 points each, Arnie Smith’s rink came in seventh place with 20 points, Chuck Sweet’s rink finished in eighth place with 16 points and Shelley MacDougall’s rink came in last place with nine points.

This tournament ended the curling season in Windsor. The club's tribute to volunteers was planned for April 5.

Les Reid is the new incoming president, taking over from Bob Langdon after a few years of dedicated and solid service.

Organizations: Windsor Curling Club

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page