Acadia AAA Atoms named 2012 champs

Dan Boyd
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Acadia AAA Atom hockey team recently won the provincial championship for their division.

In an absolutely remarkable 2011-12 hockey season, the Acadia AAA Atom hockey team with a core group of West Hants players, finished off their undefeated season by winning the Nova Scotia Championship in Antigonish March 23-25.

In the team's opening game, they handily outscored the South Shore 7-1 with Damian Hartt, of Ellershouse, being named the game's Most Valuable Player (MVP). The second game of the championship tournament saw Bailey Peach, of Falmouth, named MVP in Acadia's 3-1 win over Dartmouth.

The third game of the weekend was their easiest win as they crushed Cape Breton County 11-0. Port Williams hockey player Marshall Plandowski was game MVP in this contest.

The fourth game of the tourney was time for Maggie Burbidge, of Falmouth, to kick things into high-gear as she was named the game MVP in a 3-1 verdict over Glace Bay.

Acadia's undefeated season was on the line in Game 5 versus Antigonish.  The Atom Bulldogs forced Acadia into overtime before the Valley unit won it 5-4. Joe MacDonald, of Brooklyn, played a superb game despite the four goals allowed and continued to show why he remains the No. 1 goaltender in the province for his age category. He was named game MVP. MacDonald was also named Top Goaltender for the entire tournament.

Acadia won the provincial championship with some more gutsy work from Burbidge as they defeated the St. Margaret's Bay team 5-1. Burbidge was named game MVP. Besides MacDonald being named Top Goaltender of the tournament, Hartt was selected Best Defenseman and Peach was named Top Forward. 

Geographic location: Acadia, Antigonish, Falmouth Dartmouth Cape Breton County Port Williams Glace Bay Brooklyn

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page