NSJHL names players to All-Star teams

Published on February 21, 2012

The Nova Scotia Junior Hockey League announced the First and Second All-Star Teams Feb. 21 and four Royals made the cut.

In the Fred Fox Division, on the First All-Star Team, Jacob McKendry was named the top goaltender and Royals' Assistant Captain Nathan Little was recognized for his defense skills.

On the Second All-Star Team for the Fred Fox Division, Jordan Morash was named for defense and Ryan Getson for right wing.

Rounding out the Fred Fox Division First All-Star Team is Mitch Coady (Bay Ducks) for defense, Tim Mannette (Eastern Shore Junior Mariners) for centre, Ryan Morris (Eastern Shore Junior Mariners) for left wing and Darcy Gillis (Brookfield Elks) for right wing.

Rounding out the Second All-Star Team is goaltender Tom Nicholson (Bay Ducks), defenseman Travis Nevin (Brookfield Elks), centre Shayne Oderkirk (Sackville Blazers), and left-winger Matt Anthony (East Hants Penguins).

In the Sid Rowe Division, the First All-Star Team consists of goaltender Derrick Tait (Antigonish Bulldogs), defensemen Matt Noiles (Cumberland County Blues) and Graeme Lodge (Antigonish Bulldogs), centre Jordie Shaw (Cumberland County Blues), left-winger Jordan Langlois (Glace Bay Jr. Miners) and right-winger Jeremy Sheppard (Port Hawkesbury Strait Pirates).

In the Sid Rowe Division, the Second All-Star Team consists of goaltender Scott MacDonald (Glace Bay Jr. Miners), defensemen Brett Simmons (Glace Bay Jr. Miners) and Devan Cameron (Pictou County Scotians), centre Brett McCarron (Glace Bay Jr. Miners), left-winger Steven MacGillivray (Antigonish Bulldogs) and right-winger Geoff Burke (Cumberland County Blues).